Post Page [Top]

microbiologyparasitic InfectionsParasitology

Human Parasites, Types of Parasites, and Classification


A parasite is a living organism which gets nutrition and protection from another organism where it lives. Parasites enter into the human body through mouth, skin and genitalia. In this article, we will generally discuss the types and classification of parasites. It is important from an academic point of view.
Those parasites are harmful, which derives their nutrition and other benefits from the host and host get nothing in return but suffers from some injury.

Types of Parasites

  1. Ecto-parasite: An ectoparasite lives outside on the surface of the body of the host.
  2. Endo-parasite: An endo-parasite lives inside the body of the host, it lives in the blood, tissues, body cavities, digestive tract or other organs.
  3. Temporary parasite: A temporary parasite visits its host for a short period of time.
  4. Permanent parasite: Permanent parasite lives its whole life in the host.
  5. Facultative parasite: A facultative parasite can live both independently and dependently. It lives in the host when the opportunity arises.
  6. Obligatory parasite: An obligatory parasite, can’t live without a host.
  7. Accidental parasite: An accidental parasite, accidentally enters in an unusual host and can live their normally. It may or may not cause disease in the accidental host.
  8. Aberrant parasite: An aberrant parasite, accidentally or deliberately reaches a host where it can’t live and will die sooner or later.

Classification of Parasites


  1. Protozoa

    1. Sarcodina (amebas)
    2. Sporozoa
    3. Mastigophora (flagellates)
    4. Ciliata
  2. Metazoa

    1. Nemathelminthes

    2. Platyhelminthes

      1. Trematoda (flukes)
      2. Cestoda (tapeworms)
parasites types of parasites, classification of parasites

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Your Reply and Give Your Opinion About the Post

Bottom Ad [Post Page]